LOCATION

The Gîte de la Papetie enjoys a remarkable location, at the crossroads of regions full of character : Limousin, Périgord, Auvergne and Quercy. At the heart of Corrèze and its green lanscapes, in a rural and bucolic preserved setting, Brivezac is next to the Dordogne “la Rivière Espérance” well known for its beauties and barges “gabarres”, this village is located between Argentat and Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne (also called “la Riviera Limousine”) located 8 kms away.

The Gîte de la Papetie was created in 2013-2014, established in a barn built with typical stones, it has been recently refurbished. A family estate on ancient wine-growing lands, it is occupied by meadows, walnut and apple tree fields. In addition to being a charming and peaceful place of stay, it is also an excellent starting point to discover the exquisite surrondings.

Fotolia_19934783_Subscription_Monthly_M-web Fotolia_50383197_Subscription_Monthly_M-web
The quays of Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne The abbey-church of Beaulieu (XIIth century)

DAY-TRIPS OR HALF-DAY-TRIPS EXCURSION

• Listed sites and most beautiful villages in France: Rocamadour, Gouffre de Padirac, Carennac’s cloister, Castelnau’s castle, Curemonte, Turenne, Collonges-la-Rouge (20 km), Aubazine and its abbey, Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne and its 12th century abbey-church (8 km), Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Conques, the Célé’s valley, Pompadour (Château, Racecourse and National Stud Farm)… But also the Massif du Sancy (Mont-Dore, La Bourboule…) ou Limoges and the Lake of Vassivière…

• Cities, villages and curiosities: Brive (its historic city-centre and its famous Saturday morning market under the Georges Brassens covered market), Tulle and its cathedral, Terrasson and the Gardens of the Imaginary, Sarlat, Martel, Souillac, the Gardens of Eyrignac, the Prehistoric Valley and Lascaux.

• Country of Châteaux and Gastronomy: the Dordogne Valley (listed by Unesco for its natural diversity)Corrèze and Lot will get you to discover their natural, architectural and gastronomic heritage. Between two landmark visits, taste the specialities of the local farmers : foie gras, walnuts, cabécou de Rocamadour, Mille et Une Pierres wine, apples, chestnuts, mushrooms and the cep, flognarde… Among the inescapable of the Brivezac’s country : the Gariguette from Beaulieu for strawberry lovers, and the Vin Paillé produced near the Gîte.

• Culture: Cloister museum, Accordion Museum and Arms Museum in Tulle, Musée Labenche and Edmond Michelet Centre in Brive, Porcelain Museum in limogs, President Chirac Museum in Corrèze, Sédières Château (exhibitions and concerts in summer), Vassivière. Numerous festival are organised all year along in addition to summer festivals : Sédières Festival, Saint-Céré festival, Book Fair in Brive, Theatre Festival of Collonges-la-Rouge, Brive Plage Festival, Nuits de Nacre in Tulle (Music festival).

Fotolia_54335505_Subscription_Monthly_M-web Fotolia_44634204_Subscription_Monthly_M-web
Canoe trip on the Dordogne Collonges la Rouge, listed in “Plus beaux villages de France”

OUTDOORS ACTIVITIES AND LEISURE

Local Markets: All summer long, local farmer markets offer to taste the local products at night, in a festive and welcoming atmosphere (Beaulieu, Monceaux, Saillac, Beynat).
• Outdoors activities: Canoe, rafting, stroll on barges, gliding, hang-gliding, river and pond fishing, (no kill course, fly fishing…), river or pool bathing, pétanque… and various hiking routes to walk or cycle.
Golf amateurs will enjoy the numerous pitches nearby : Brive-Planchetorte, Aubazine-Le Coiroux, Peyrelevade, Saint-Chamant, Neuvic, Aurillac, Limoges, Saint-Céré, Souillac, Saint-Jean-Lespinasse…
• Viewing : numerous guided tours of villages, châteaux etc… are organised.

For more informations: visit the website of the tourist office.

Fotolia_41731248_Subscription_Monthly_M-web Fotolia_15015403_Subscription_Monthly_M-web
The Gariguette of Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne Turenne, listed in « Plus beaux villages de France »

LOCALISATION

Le Gîte de la Papetie bénéficie d’une situation géographique de choix, au carrefour de régions de caractère : Limousin, Périgord, Auvergne et Quercy. Au cœur de la Corrèze, et de ses paysages verdoyants, dans un cadre rural et champêtre préservé, Brivezac est à proximité immédiate de la Dordogne, « La Rivière Espérance », connue pour ses beautés et ses gabarres : le village se trouve entre Argentat et Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne (« La Riviera Limousine ») situé à 8 km.

Le Gîte de la Papetie a été créé en 2013-2014, établi dans une grange en pierre typique et totalement rénovée, propriété de famille sur d’anciennes terres de vignobles aujourd’hui occupées par des prés, des champs de noyers et de pommiers. En plus d’un lieu de séjour de charme, propice à la détente, il sera un excellent point de départ pour découvrir toutes les richesses des environs pendant vos vacances…

Fotolia_19934783_Subscription_Monthly_M-web Fotolia_50383197_Subscription_Monthly_M-web
Les quais de Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne L’abbatiale de Beaulieu (12ème siècle).

EXCURSION À LA JOURNÉE OU À LA 1/2 JOURNÉE

• Sites classés & plus beaux villages de France : Rocamadour, Gouffre de Padirac, cloître de Carennac, château de Castelnau, Curemonte, Turenne, Collonges-la-Rouge (20 km), Aubazine et son Abbaye, Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne et son abbatiale du 12ème siècle (8 km), Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Conques, la Vallée du Célé, Pompadour (Château, Hippodrome et Haras National)… Mais aussi le Massif du Sancy (Mont-Dore, La Bourboule…) ou Limoges et le Lac de Vassivière…

• Villes, villages & curiosités : Brive (son centre-ville historique et son célèbre marché du samedi matin sous la Halle Georges Brassens), Tulle et sa cathédrale, Terrasson et les Jardins de l’Imaginaire, Sarlat, Martel, Souillac, Le Jardins d’Eyrignac, la Vallée de la Préhistoire et Lascaux…

• Pays de châteaux & de gastronomie : La Vallée de la Dordogne (classée à l’Unesco pour sa diversité naturelle), la Corrèze et le Lot vous feront découvrir leur patrimoine naturel, architectural et gastronomique. Entre deux visites de grands sites, goûtez aux spécialités et au savoir-faire des producteurs locaux : Foie gras, noix, cabécou de Rocamadour, Vin de Mille et Une Pierres, pommes, châtaignes, champignons dont le cèpe, flognarde… Et parmi les incontournable du pays de Brivezac : la Gariguette de Beaulieu pour les amateurs de fraise et le Vin Paillé produit à proximité du Gîte.

• Culture : Musée du cloître, Musée de l’accordéon et Musée des Armes à Tulle, Musée Labenche et Centre Edmond Michelet à Brive, Musée de la Porcelaine à Limoges, Musée du Président Chirac à Corrèze, Château de Sédières (expositions et concerts en été), Vassivière. De nombreux festivals sont organisés toute l’année en plus dans animations estivales : Festival de Sédières, de Saint-Céré, Foire du Livre de Brive, Théâtrales de Collonges-La-Rouge, Brive Plage Festival, Nuits de Nacre à Tulle…

Fotolia_54335505_Subscription_Monthly_M-web Fotolia_44634204_Subscription_Monthly_M-web
Sorties en canoë sur la Dordogne Collonges-La-Rouge, classé « Plus beaux villages de France »

ACTIVITÉS DE PLEIN AIR ET DE LOISIRS

Marchés locaux :  Tous l’été, les marchés de producteurs de pays vous proposent de déguster en soirée les produits locaux dans une ambiance conviviale et festive (Beaulieu, Monceaux, Saillac, Beynat).
• Activités de plein air : Canoë, rafting, promenade en gabarres, vol à voile, vol libre, pêche en rivière, en étang (parcours no kill, à la mouche…), baignade en rivière ou en piscine, pétanque… Ainsi que de nombreux circuits de randonnée à parcourir à pied ou à VTT.
Les amateurs de golf apprécieront le nombre de site de pratique à proximité : Brive-Planchetorte, Aubazine-Le Coiroux, Peyrelevade, Saint-Chamant, Neuvic, Aurillac, Limoges, Saint-Céré, Souillac, Saint-Jean-Lespinasse…
• Visites : de nombreuses visites guidées de villages, châteaux, etc. sont organisées…

Plus plus d’information : visitez le site de l’Office de Tourisme

Fotolia_41731248_Subscription_Monthly_M-web Fotolia_15015403_Subscription_Monthly_M-web
La Gariguette de Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne Turenne, classé « Plus beaux villages de France »